Week in Review 05 March 2009

I realize I should probably be writing more than just these weeks in review, but until then, here’s another…

 

Highlights of the week: 1) After 3 years of trying to get into the New York City Marathon, I will finally be running it this coming November 1, 2009. I took advantage of their deal of going through the entry lottery 3 years in a row, being denied, and the 4th year is guaranteed! 2) My faithful guitar is aging and was in need of some tune ups. I was fearful this was going to cost a bit of money that I wasn’t prepared to spend, but then a guy from church who knows all about guitars said he would take it home and fix it all up for me! A huge blessing.

 

Disappointed by: I tried to register for the North Face Endurance Challenge Half Marathon coming on May 9th, only to find it’s already full. Then I tried to enter the lottery for a race up Mt Washington in New Hampshire to find out it was the same day as my friend’s wedding. So, I’m trying to get into a half marathon at the end of May in Brooklyn.

 

Enjoyed watching: 1) the movie Across The Universe. I thought the music from it was phenomenal, and how they intertwined all of the Beatles songs into the story was very well done. I also enjoyed the cameo of Bono! However, the middle of it was very…trippy and some parts just weren’t necessary. I wouldn’t say it was a favorite, but it was good. I have kept a list over the past year of movies I want to see , so I’m trying to catch up on those movies I’ve never seen.  Right now I’m currently watching Good Night, and Good Luck about the McCarthy Communism trials and such…it’s good, a little slow. 2) LOST. Seriously, I think this season is the best one yet. I still love the 1st, but wow, they are certainly making a comeback with this season after last season left much to be desired. Maybe it’s an every-other-season thing?

 

Youth Ministry update: Last week we began an overview of the study we’ll be doing, splitting the guys and girls for the guys to talk about what it means to be a “man” and the girls to talk about “true beauty.” I picked up some resources from Youth Specialties that I’m really excited about. I worked on the lesson for tomorrow night out of it and it is some solid stuff. world-baseball-classic1

 

Looking forward to:  The World Baseball Classic. I think it’s a good thing for baseball right now. I’m also looking forward to Fantasy Baseball. It’s a good bunch of guys in the league, so it should make for a fun time.

 

Words of Wisdom: “‘Why waste time lying?” Phillies shortstop Jimmy Rollins says in response to the ARod fiasco. ‘You feel what you feel. You do what you do. Others have to live with your truth. You’re the one who has to live with your lies.’” (ESPN the Magazine)

2 Comments

Filed under briefs

2 responses to “Week in Review 05 March 2009

  1. Kristy Ingraham

    TIM!!! I love that you have this site! I like how organized it is! I Was reading through it on my lunch break as I was going through all my emails I had and opened the link at the end of one of yours. Well done!! See you at group!! 🙂

  2. I liked Across the Universe a lot for the music and the story, but the middle was a bit rough…guess you had to be there to understand. I don’t think we’ll ever truly understand that time in history.

Leave a comment